Author Spotlight Young Adult Award winning Alicia Rades


Alicia Rades (Square).jpg

SS: Thank you so much for being here first and foremost!

 

SS:   What can you tell us about your latest book?

AR: My most recent book is Desire in Frost, the second book in the Crystal Frost series. I also have a third coming out in June. Desire in Frost follows the story of a teen psychic named Crystal Frost. In this book, she is investigating the abduction of a young girl from her hometown.

 

SS:   How is it different from the first one?  How is it the same?

AR: The storyline is different from the first one, but you get to see the same characters—and even new ones—from the first book.

 

SS:    What was the inspiration behind it?

AR: I wrote the first book as part of NaNoWriMo 2013. I chose to write about a teen psychic because that’s the kind of books I love reading, and the story evolved out of that. I knew I wanted to stick with the characters for more than one book, so I continued with Desire in Frost as part of NaNoWriMo 2014.

 

SS:  What can you share about the new characters?

AR: Robin is one of the biggest new characters in this book. He’s Teddy’s nephew (Teddy is Crystal’s mom’s boyfriend). He tags along on their trip to Florida to visit his grandparents, and he ends up helping Crystal with her mystery.

 

We also explore more about Hope, the young girl who was abducted and was mentioned in the first book. Other characters include Scott, Penny, and Lauren along with a few minor characters, but I don’t want to give too much away.

 

SS:    What is your writing process?

 

AR: I wouldn’t say my writing process is anything special. I start with an idea and then flesh it out with a storyline. Then I work on the first draft. I like to just sit down and go with the first draft, so it doesn’t usually take me too long. I’ve written first drafts in 10 days before. It’s usually around two months or less.

 

Then when I’m done with the first draft, I’ll let it sit for a while, return and self-edit, and repeat. After I’m a bit more confident in my story, I let other people read it and give me feedback. Then I edit again, get more feedback, repeat. When the story is ready, I send it off to a proofreader, read it again for errors, order a proof copy, read again, and then publish.

 

SS:   What can you share about the main protagonist in your story?

AR: Crystal Frost is the hero. She’s a young girl who recently discovered she has psychic powers. She’s still somewhat unsure of them, but she’s willing to help whoever needs her.

 

SS:  What message would you like your readers to take away from this book?

AR: I mostly wrote this book for entertainment, but one thing Crystal learns throughout the series is to embrace who she is and to use that to help other people. I think that’s something anyone can take away from this series.

 

SS:   What is something we would be surprised to know about you?

AR: One thing that might surprise you is that I have written and published all my books while going to school full-time.

 

 

FireinFrost(2)

 

 

Desire in Frost

 

Website: aliciaradesauthor.com
Facebook: facebook.com/aliciaradeswriter
Instagram: instagram.com/aliciarades
Goodreads: goodreads.com/aliciarades

Bio: Alicia Rades is an award-winning young adult paranormal author with a love for supernatural stories set in the modern world. When she’s not plotting out fiction novels, she’s running her own professional writing business, plowing her way through her never-ending reading list, or preparing for the backpacking trips she takes every summer. In college, Alicia majored in communications with an emphasis on professional writing. She currently lives in Wisconsin with her husband and two cats.

Leave a Reply

