Author Spotlight with Author Carol Cassada


 

 

author pic

SS: Thank you so much for being here today Carol.

CC:   Thank you for having me.

SS: First and foremost, tell us about yourself?

CC: Thanks for having me here Sylvia. I live in Virginia, I come from a small town called Ringgold and there’s really nothing much to do here. I’ve always loved reading since I was a child, but it wasn’t until high school when my passion for writing began. I took a creative writing course and I fell in love with writing, that’s when I knew this is what I wanted to do with my life. After graduating from college in 2008, I began working on my first book and a little over a year later it was published. Since then, I’ve written several other books and I have plenty of more in the works. When I’m not busy writing, I love to read, cook, and play with my pets.

 

 

SS:When did you first get into writing?

 

CC:I became interested in writing during my sophomore year of high school. I was going through a difficult time and writing became a form of escapism for me. I loved using my imagination to create stories and I found that it helped relax me.

 

SS:What can you tell us about your books?

 

CC:Going Home Again is my first book and it’s a romance novel, that was my first time writing in the genre. Before that, I’d never thought of writing romance until I read my first Harlequin novel and was inspired to write in the genre. As for the Westmore series, it was inspired by my love of soap operas. It has all the elements you’d expect to see in the shows; family sagas, drama, romance, and betrayal.

 

 

SS: What can you share about your latest work?

 

CC:Currently, I’m in the midst of publishing Westmore 7. It’s been finished for a while, but due to a busy schedule I haven’t had time to publish it, but I’m planning to in the next couple of months.

 

SS:What was the inspiration behind it and also behind your books?

 

CC:As I mentioned earlier, the series was influenced by my love of soap operas. Westmore takes place in a small town and follows the lives of three families. Throughout the series the characters experience their share of drama, heartache, and other happy moments.

 

SS:What can you tell us about the characters?

 

CC:In total, there’s about 20 characters in the series and each one is different in their own way. You have the rich couple, Andrew and Elizabeth Braxton, widow Charlotte Green, rockstars Scott and Alicia, and businessman Stan Reynolds. Each character has a unique personality and storyline, and in the books you see how they interact and connect with each other.

 

SS:Do you have a specific writing routine?

 

CC: I write whenever I have time and when the moment hits me. I used to try to write everyday, but now my schedule’s busy and I don’t write much during the weekdays. On weekends, I like to relax and get some writing in, I found that’s when I’m able to get a lot accomplished.

 

SS:What advice do you have for those aspiring writers?

 

CC: The best advice I can give aspiring writers is don’t give up. In this day and age, publishing is tough and there’s going to be difficult times, but you can’t give up on your dream. You have to keep pushing on during your writing journey.

 

SS:Are you currently working on something new at the moment?

 

CC:I’m currently working on volume 8 in the Westmore series, which I hope to release by the end of this year or early next year.  Aside from that I’m working on some short stories for anthologies. I’m also planning a sequel to Going Home Again and I’ve got a bunch of other book ideas that I eventually want to work on.

 

SS:What is your favorite type of books?

 

CC:I’ll read just about anything. I love reading different type of genres, everything from romance to mystery to horror. As long as the story’s good, I’ll read it.

 

SS:What is something we would be surprised to know about you?

 

CC:One thing I think people will be surprised to learn is I collect angel figurines. I’ve been collecting them for years now and I estimate I have over a hundred figurines.

 
Share you links:

 

Blog: http://www.carolcassada.blogspot.com/

 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Author-Carol-Cassada-233360543344573/

 

Twitter: https://twitter.com/dramacjc

 

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Carol-Cassada/e/B00520F3ZU/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_9?qid=1457473131&sr=8-9

 

 

Author Bio:

 

Carol Cassada is an author, who hails from the small town of Ringgold, VA.
From a very early age she loved to read and by the time she reached high school, she fell in love with writing and knew she wanted to become a writer.

 

She started her writing journey in the winter of 2008 when she wrote her first book, Going Home Again. Since then, she’s released 6 more books, all part of the Westmore series. Although romance is her main focus, she loves to explore all genres and has many more projects in the works.

When she’s not busy cranking out books, Carol loves to spend time with her family, play with her pets, catch up on reading, and blog about her life and love of soap operas.

 

Books:

 

Carol Front Cover JPG Amazon

westmore

westnb

Broken Ties

westmore4

 

wawestmore5

4 thoughts on “Author Spotlight with Author Carol Cassada”

Leave a Reply

