Author Spotlight with Andrea Buginsky


.  Author Spotlight   Andrea Buginsky

 

Me with Flowers

Thank you so much for being here today Andrea, I really appreciate you taking the time.

 

Thank you so much for having me here.

 

SS:    Tell the readers about yourself?

 

I’m a 40-year-old author, though I feel like a teenager, which probably why I write for them. I love fantasy, especially Harry Potter and Twilight. When I started writing my books almost ten years ago, I decided to write YA fantasy since that’s what I love to read.

 

Funny story, I first tried my hand at an adult romance, because I also love Danielle Steel, and wanted to be her. But that book just didn’t feel right. One day, I was watching the movie The Seeker: The Dark is Rising, and I realized that’s what I wanted to write. So, YA fantasy became my genre, and I love it!

 

SS:   Tell us about your latest book?

 

Striker’s Apprentice actually came out last summer. I had a really tough year. My grandfather passed at the end of January, and I just wasn’t feeling up to doing a lot of work. I finished the book and published it, but that was about it. I didn’t promote it except with some social media posts. But no blog tours, interviews, etc. I just wasn’t up for it.

 

SS:   What was the inspiration behind this book?

 

I wanted to write a character for my nephew who asked me, “When am I going to be in one of your books?” Who can turn away from that challenge. His name is Dylan Hunter. One day, I sat down and wrote a conversation between my main character and an old friend, whose son was looking for a hunting trainer. The boy’s name is, of course, Dylan. Dylan the hunter was born, and the book began to take shape.

 

SS:  Is this a part of a series?

 

Yes, it’s the third book in The Chosen Series. Thanks to Dylan being a hunter, I was able to focus more on the leader of the group, Striker, who became Dylan’s trainer, hence the title. It gave me a chance to write a male main character with a male counterpart, which I really wanted to do since my other books all tend to focus on strong female leads. I don’t want to be an author of teen girl books; I want to be an author of teen books. So, this book gave me the chance to reach out to my male readers. I really hope they like it.

 

SS:   Do you have a favorite Character or Characters?

 

OK, let me do a little background first: The Chosen is based on my group from an online role-playing game (MORPG) I used to play with my family. The characters are our characters. My character is Halli, so I’m a bit attached to her.

 

Having said that, I also love my female lead in the New Avalon series. Elena is a wonderful character to write and develop. I feel a connection with her as she learns more about herself and grows. I’m working on the third book of that series, and she’s going through a lot right now. I can sympathize with her, because I endured an incredible moment my junior year of high school, after I had my first open-heart surgery.

 

SS:    What is your writing process?

 

I used to be able to right by the seat of my pants, but I have trouble doing that without seeing where I’m going first. So, I’ve started outlining as I go. Just having a few notes for each chapter lets me see the path I’m on. Then I can let the characters take me where they want to go.

 

SS:   Does music play a big part of your writing?  Why or Why not?

 

Not really. I do listen to music in the background when I write, but it’s more about white noise than music.

 

SS:    Are you currently working on something new now?

 

Yes, I’m writing New Avalon, book 3.

 

SS:  What is something your readers may not know about you?

 

Well, I may have surprised them with the fact that I had open-heart surgery when I was 16. I was born with a congenital heart defect. I’ve had three surgeries for it, to correct certain parts of the heart, and to replace some of those parts. My cousin once sent me a card referencing something like, “Don’t think of it as being in the hospital, think of it as time to have your parts repaired.” And this is so true! Since there’s no cure for CHDs, having my parts tuned when needed keeps me going. I wrote about my experience growing up with a heart defect in My Open Heart.’

 

SS: Thank you for sharing that with us.

 

SS:  Is there a piece of advice you would like to give to those aspiring writers?

 

Never give up. If your first book doesn’t feel write, start your second. If your book is rejected by a publisher, submit it to another one. If you want to self-publish, do it! I do and I love it! Just keep going, and don’t quit.

 

Thank you again for taking the time to be here with us.

 

Thank you so much for having me!

Where can we find you?

 

Facebook

Twitter

Instagram

Pinterest

YouTube

G+

Email: andipandi10@msn.com

Website

Blog for Teens

Check out Andrea’s Books:

 

 

1 thought on “Author Spotlight with Andrea Buginsky”

Leave a Reply

