An Interview with Author Elaine Grey


bees book cover create space

Thank you so much for being here today Elaine I  really appreciate it.  

1. Tell us about yourself? 

I am a stay at home mother of three children under the age of four. I live in North Texas with my husband of six years. I started writing when I was very young as a way to journal my nightmares which ultimately inspired me to write poetry. Now, I am inspired by my children, watching them grow and learn and discover the world around them.

 2.  What can you tell us about your Book?

Bees in My Sleeves: My First Book of Poems is a learning tool, an early introduction to poetry. There are a few different styles to show how we can play with words in a fun and exciting way. By learning rhymes and seeing words in different structures than just a standard sentence can really be beneficial to their development. It’s never too early to expose children to poetry and help foster a love for language and reading.

3. What is your writing process?

My process for writing children’s book is quite different than the process I use in traditional writing. I usually start with a notepad and jot down some general ideas. From there, I brainstorm and sometimes sketch to develop the rest of the work. Many times pieces I’ve written do not end up going in the final book because as it takes shape, they may not fit the theme. For Bees in My Sleeves I wrote about things that a child might experience in their everyday, from bath time to playing with a favorite toy to naptime.

4.  What are your favorite books and authors?

For children’s books, I am really inspired by books that push the envelope with language and sentence structure.

Right now two of my favorites are Frank Was a Monster Who Wanted to Dance by Keith Graves and Little Blue Truck (really the entire series) by Alice Schertle and Jim McElmurry.

5. What was the inspiration behind your book?

I wrote it in response to my three year old son who loves to “read”. He has quite an array of children’s books, but it seemed they were either too hard or too easy for him. The books for his age were simple board books while the ones a level up were full sentences and about things that he didn’t quite understand yet. He likes to use fun language in his every day speech, and it really spoke to me that he loves this…he loves words. I needed to create something for him that he would enjoy at this age and still understand the content.

6. What Genre do you categorize your latest book ?

Bees in My Sleeves: My First Book of Poems is a children’s picture book for ages 4-9.

7. Are you working on any other projects?

Yes! I am working on a series of picture books that follow a young girl and her pet bug with a Steampunk slant. So far I have four written, but I will be working on more next year.

8. What type of audience are you trying to reach?

Bees in My Sleeves is geared towards ages 4-9.

9.  Who are your biggest inspirations when you write?

My children inspire most of my writing, especially as I watch them discover the world around them. I am also inspired by Dr. Seuss because he wasn’t afraid to push the envelope and show children that there is more to reading than simple words and simple sentences.

10. What are your favorite types of books?

I love them all! I am really enjoying picture books at the moment as well as the classics that have been translated for children.

11.  What is something we would be surprised to know about you?      

Hmm…I love books so much that I even used them all throughout my wedding. Even the wedding cake was designed to look like a stack of books!

 

amber

To find out more about Elaine Grey visit:

http://www.elainegrey.com/

https://www.facebook.com/ElaineGreyAuthor

 

 

http://www.amazon.com/Bees-My-Sleeves-First-Poems-ebook/dp/B00MQDVZ6M/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1415132347&sr=8-1&keywords=Bees+in+my+sleeves

1 thought on “An Interview with Author Elaine Grey”

Leave a Reply

