Interview with Elle Henry and her New Release Pieces of Me


IMG_4446

 

  1. Hello Elle thank you for being here.   Tell us about yourself?

 

Well I’m Elle Henry 33 year old wife and mother of two kids. My passion for life is the written word. I love it in any form. I’m an avid reader, but writing is the love of my life. It’s how I express my feelings when I’m sad the best friend to listen to and not judge. I keep a journal by my side all times just in case I need to jot down my thoughts.

 

 

  1. Tell us about your book Pieces of me?   What was the inspiration?

 

This book is a reflection of my favorite forms of writing poetry and short story. The inspiration came from loving writing and wanting to share that with the world. I choose poems that had meaning for me, rather it be love, lost or whimsy. In storytelling I wanted the reader to enjoy a good story and get lost in the moment.

 

  1. Can you share when you fell in love with poetry?

Sylvia Plath’s “Ariel” I was in the 11th grade the poem was “Daddy”. There was such passion in words as she expressed anger over her father’s dead and the first attempt at her own life. I found her complicated life enigma in a way; however that book of poetry had such vast impact on my life that I keep a copy on my desk to this day for inspiration.

 

  1. What is your writing process?

I don’t really have a formal writing process. I do use an outline when I write my story, because it keeps me organized; however I don’t write chapter to chapter. I write the story out then I break the chapters up during the revision process.

  1. What are your favorite books and authors?

My favorite authors in no particular order are Bronte sisters, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Daphne Du Maurier, Sylvia Plath and Stephen King. My favorite books are Rebecca, The Great Gatsby and Tess of the D’Urbervilles.

 

  1. What are your favorite Hobbies?

I’m love reading, writing and spending time with my kids. Also, visiting a good museum or bookstore.

 

  1. What advice do you have for other authors?

I think as writers we are the most judgmental and harbor the most doubt when it comes to our work. There’s a quote I put in the book specifically to inspire writing. “Just grab a pen and write, don’t stress about the critics. When it’s all said and done someone will love it” Start with your imagination, the rest is trivial.

 

  1. Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years?

In five years I will still be writing and reading, but more traveling. I would love to have a New York Times bestseller and maybe a job teaching creative writing to high school students.

 

Author Bio:

Growing up in Florida Elle was always called the girl with a book.  Which suited her just fine; because she enjoyed the escapism in reading and the fact that reading was like taking a journey anytime she pleased.  She developed that passion for reading from her grandmother who is now deceased, but that love books continued.  She considers some of her favorite places in the world libraries and bookstores.

 

Elle now lives with her family in Central Florida. Her education in includes English/Creative Writing from Southern New Hampshire. She credits some of her favorite authors as Bronte sisters, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Daphne Du Maurier, Sylvia Plath and Stephen King. Her life and love is writing and reading, and she has a site dedicated to her work called AvidWriterElle.com.

 

FullSizeRender

 

Elle Henry

Author website: http://www.avidwriterelle.com

Twitter: @Avidwriterelle

Facebook: Facebook.com/AuthorElleHenry

Amazom.com Link: http://amzn.com/B00NJ78CP6

 

Leave a Reply

