Guest Post with Author Arlene Lagos


Image

Today I am so happy to have author Arlene Lagos.

Thanks so much for being here Arlene

Can you tell us about yourself?

I’ve written poetry, stage plays, screenplays and short stories for over 20 years.  The first thing I ever published was when I was a senior in high school, it was a poem called, “Revolution” that made it into the National Library of Poetry’s anthology, “River of Dreams”. In addition to writing the Beyond Earth Series I also has twelve short stories published in the Giant Tales anthology trilogy. I wrote, produced and directed a short film called, “Butterflies Wake” that I am now converting into a novel. When I’m not writing I love to sing and travel. I currently live in Massachusetts with my husband and daughter.

Tell us about your new book,  “Beyond Earth”?

“Beyond Earth” is the first book of the series. It’s a young adult, science-fiction fantasy novella about a teenage girl named Adaminia who follows a strange sound that leads her to a doorway. She walks through the doorway and is brought to another planet where she finds out that there’s more to life than what she knew to be true, including the people and places that exist Beyond Earth. Adaminia grows up quickly as she tries to conquer an evil darkness, reveal hidden truths, and understand her attraction to a mysterious stranger, all while on a journey to find an unknown group of warriors that are supposed to help her on her quest to save her planet.

Is this a book series?

Yes, Book 2 is called, “Beyond Planets” and is scheduled for release at the end of this month!

Book 3 is called, “Beyond Time” and is scheduled for release in late September.

How was the writing process for this book?

This book saved my life. It started out as a writing challenge for National Novel Writing Month. I needed something to get my mind off of the death of my childhood friend, so I threw myself into this story. In 25 days I wrote over 51,000 words; that was in 2011. Two years and many edits later, I had the book I wanted!

What can you share about the characters?

I created Adaminia at first as a way of coping with the loss of my friend. In my mind I thought perhaps instead of her dying, I could write a story about how she continues her journey on a distant planet. From there I started thinking of friends that I missed or people I wanted to see and the characters formed from there. I had just moved back to Massachusetts from Charleston, SC so a few of my Charleston friends took shape into characters as well as some of the settings as you already know. In a way, the book was a mental journey for me and the characters in it are all the people I wanted to take with me on my journey.

What genre would you categorize this book?

Young Adult, Sci-Fi Fantasy.

Have you always wanted to write?

I’ve been writing since I was a child. I used to have scraps of paper all over the house, sticky notes, notepads.  Then my mom bought our first computer and I wrote an entire book of poetry called, “Thought Garden”.  Currently we are trying to find it so I can publish it!

What advice could you give others for writing?

#1. Keep writing don’t ever stop.

#2. Never let anyone tell you to give up on your writing.

#3. Join a writers group, you will learn a lot about editing and the emotional support will keep you in check on those days where you feel like you stink.

#4. Don’t write and edit in the same day. When you are writing just write. Let it flow out of you however it wants to; you can go back later and edit. Don’t disrupt the flow!

Do you have a target audience for your books?

I thought I did! I assumed that mostly 13-25 year old females would be my largest audience but oddly, its not. Or at least not yet! Surprisingly, I have a lot of male fans and most of my fans are over 30! That could just be because of my age and it may change as word gets out but I found it interesting when I was at Boston Comic Con how many men versus women purchased the book!

At what age did you realize you wanted to be a writer?

I think deep down I’ve always known, but I just never realized I wanted to do it professionally until a few years ago. It was always more of me just writing down all the thoughts constantly running around in my head, whether it be a poem, song or story. Then in 2010 I wrote my first play for the 24-hour plays through Deuce Theatre in Charleston, SC. The entire process was so invigorating that I began writing a lot more and that’s when I started taking it seriously.

What inspires your stories?

My friends inspire me greatly. My friends have so much character that I think everyone should know them! So I start with great characters and then I think about all the interesting situations I’ve been in throughout my life and how those situations shaped who I am, and that’s when a story unfolds.

What is something others would be surprised to learn about you?

People always seem really surprised when I tell them I suffer from Anxiety. Maybe it’s because I always seem so confident. But you can be confident and tenacious and still have anxiety. I’m pretty much anxious about anything I do; but I still almost always do what I set out to do no matter how scary it is.

  • From now until August 31st, you can get an eBook of Beyond Earth for only $0.99!!!!

Image

See below for links to everything!

2 thoughts on “Guest Post with Author Arlene Lagos”

Leave a Reply

