Guest Author : Emerald Barnes


I am so happy to have with me on my blog author Emerald Barnes who has written some amazing books like Read Me Dead, and Piercing through the darkness.

emerald5

Welcome Emerald!

Thanks for having me, Syl!  It’s a pleasure to be on your blog.

Thank you Emerald, it is a pleasure having you here. 

I know that you have two books out and that you have been currently working on a new book.

Would you mind sharing on your newest work?  What is the title?

That’s true! I am currently working on two new books, but I think the one you’re talking about is Knight’s Academy since it’s the one getting the most buzz!  It’s the first installment of the Knight’s Academy trilogy, and it follows seventeen year old Myka Williams on her journey of self-discovery.  But, it turns out in her discovery to find herself and who she truly is in this world, that she unearths a haunting secret.  Vampires are real and they plan on taking over the world and using humans for their personal gain, and she just might be something she thought existed only in fairy tales.

Can you tell us what makes this work different from the other two?

Oh, this is completely different!  The other two are considered Christian fiction.  One a suspense/thriller, the other a romantic suspense.  Although they are in the YA genre as well as this one, this novel has paranormal elements – you know, vampires.  They others don’t have that – at all.

Can you share the writing process on this newest book?

Oh wow.  The writing process for this one took more planning than the other two since it’s a planned trilogy.  I’m normally a pantser (one who writes by the seat of their pants), but I had to cut that out for this book.  I needed to make sure to reveal the right amount in book one and then go from there while I transitioned to book two.  It was difficult, but after some research and thought, it came together well if I say so myself.  However, I did three rounds of beta reads for this one because it was something so new for me.  I needed more opinions on this book.

What type of Genre would you label your latest  book?

Read Me Dead is a young adult romantic suspense novel, Christian fiction.

How would you describe the characters in your latest story?

In Read Me Dead, the characters are looking for something.  Matt is looking for a way to move on from the tragic accident that took his parents away.  Alexia, his twin sister, is just trying to forget the accident she saw.  And although she wants to move on, she can’t.  Not with that horrible secret hanging over her head.  Christian is searching for a way to get back the girl he loves, and Landon is trying to get the girl of his dreams.

Each are focused on new lives as they near the end of their senior year in high school, so I tried to make sure that although they have this huge event dangling over their heads, they’re still just teenagers trying to find their way in life.

Do you have a particular time of day you like to write?

Not really.  I write when I can.  I live in a house full of people, and when I’m not working, doing stuff around the house, playing with my nieces and nephews, or blogging I write.  It can be random times during the day, but usually it’s early evening, right before I have to cook supper.

What advice would you give other authors?

Never give up on your dreams.  I know that is probably very clichéd, but it’s true.  The journey is difficult, and it’s never quite like you imagined it to be, but it’s amazing.  Every bit of it.  Well, minus the blood, sweat and tears, but it’s truly amazing.

I have read both Read me Dead and Piercing through the darkness, and I found that I loved both books and your amazing writing.

Thank you!  I’m glad you enjoyed them!

Can you share what the process was in creating your stories?

Well, as I mentioned before, I’m a total pantser.  So what I did was write the rough draft.  I didn’t focus on edits while I worked or anything.  I just wrote.  Once that was finished, I re-read the books, making sure that the plot was just right.  Then, I edited again, focusing on sentence structure and all that fun grammar stuff.  It’s a tedious process, but once I have an idea, I can usually run with it and get the story I want, especially after loads of edits.

What is one thing people would be surprised to know about you?

I sing.  Well, I used to sing.  I need to get back to it, but I’m a chicken.  I sang at church (and in the car but that doesn’t count).  I recently moved to a new church and it’s a big church, with more people than I’m used to, so I’ve kind of backed away from singing.  Although, I do plan to get back to it soon.

Thanks for having me on your blog, Syl!  I’m so happy to share my writing journey with you and your readers.  God Bless!

It was a pleasure having you Emerald.  God bless you too! 

Read Me Dead – all buy links are in this one location:

https://ganxy.com/i/73581

Piercing Through the Darkness – all buy links are in this one location:

https://ganxy.com/i/73578

Website

Blog

Inspiration Blog

Facebook

Twitter

Goodreads

Google +

Amazon Author Page

Piercing Through the Darkness Trailer

Read Me Dead Trailer

PTTD(1)

Read Me Dead Cover-1

2 thoughts on “Guest Author : Emerald Barnes”

Leave a Reply

