Candle Light Reads: My Favorite Irish Movie is …..


First of all I want to say thank you for letting me be a part of this blog hop.   I want to send a big shout out to Emerald Barnes and Gloria Harshar and all those involved I am so happy to be here…

Without further ado.. My Favorite Irish Movie is …  Circle of Friends
MV5BNTAwOTIwMjgxMV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNjQ0MDYyMQ@@._V1_SY317_CR5,0,214,317_

One of my favorite Irish movies is Circle of Friends which is based in Ireland 1957.  This is a true romantic and also coming of age story of three childhood friends from a small town in Ireland as they head to Dublin and they attend a college named Trinity. I really loved the characters.   Eve who is one of the most responsible and cautious of the three friends, then there is Nan who is a year older than her friends and the trouble maker of the group when she tries to get one of the older Protestant land owners to help her rise up the social class.    She is looking for a way to move up and seems the more materialistic of the three. Then there is Bernadette ( Benny for short) which is my favorite.   I could totally relate to Benny because of her strict upbringings and how out of the three she is not allowed to live on campus and has to commute back and forth from her classes everyday.

However the best part of the movie is how Benny meets a very handsome rugby player that she likes and finds out that he also has feelings for her.   At first Benny is very shy and does not seem to think that he would be interested in her because she is not like the other girls of petite figure and does struggle with her own body issues.  This is another reason I loved this movie because they portray her not as a skinny girl but as a more rounded woman.   I have always fought my own weight issues and what society seems to deem as acceptable and to see a character like her on screen was so refreshing.

All of the three friends go through many things together.  Nan is among the ones that causes the most chaos and ends up hurting her friends in the process.  It is a true coming of age drama because as they learn it is all part of growing up.   However, I will reveal that I had a massive crush on Chris O’ Donnell who plays the handsome rugby player that Benny loves.   I also loved Minnie Driver in this role.  She was wonderful.   This was also a first for British Actor Colin Firth.  There is also the talented Alan Cumming who plays the odd duck Sean who wants to win Benny’s heart all so he could take all of Benny’s father’s money which he has been stealing.    There is so much to this movie but the overall theme is friendship.    If you have not seen it yet you are missing out.   Happy St. Patrick’s day everyone and thank you for making me a part of this Candle Light Reads Irish Gold Hop!

Irish Glod button

<a id=”rc-4d271412″ href=”http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/4d271412/” rel=”nofollow”>a Rafflecopter giveaway</a>
<script src=”//d12vno17mo87cx.cloudfront.net/embed/rafl/cptr.js”></script>

 

17 thoughts on “Candle Light Reads: My Favorite Irish Movie is …..”

  1. My favorite is Far and Away, but I do love Circle of Friends too. Thanks for the fun stop on this blog hop.

  2. My favourite is “The Quiet Man” (John Wayne and Maureen O’Hara)
    Thank you for being a part of the blog hop celebration.
    I am having fun at all blog stops 🙂
    Happy Patty’s Day to you too.
    Sydney W
    Bookaddict100(AT)gmail(DOT)com

    1. Dear Sydney W,

      Thanks for stopping in and will have to check that movie out. I appreciate being a part of this blog. So glad you are having fun! I am having so much fun too! Happy St. Patty’s day too!

      Syl Stein

  3. Those are good movies but my favorite is THE QUIET MAN with John Wayne and Maureen O’Hara. It has beautiful scenery and colorful characters.
    Thanks for the blog hop

  4. I’ve seen Circle of Friends. Minnie Driver is so good in it. I love The Quiet Man and also Waking Ned Devine.
    catherinelee100 at gmail dot com

    1. Dear Catherine,

      Thanks for stopping in today. Yes I agree Minnie Driver is good in it. I have seen Waking Ned Devine and it is another Great Irish Movie. I will have to check out Quiet Man. Have a Happy St. Patty’s day!

      Syl Stein

  5. I love far and away Tom Cruise fan here. Thanks for hopping with us, going to hop some more. I don’t think I’ve seen this movie I’ll have to check it out. I wonder if it’s on Netflix.. lol

    Samantha Fury

    1. Dear Samantha,

      Yes, I agree that far and Away is a great one too. Thanks for having me be a part of this blog with all of you. I am sure you could probably catch it on Netflix lol. Thanks again and Happy St. Patty’s day!

      Syl Stein

  6. I’ve never seen Circle of Friends–but I read the book. Thanks for hopping.
    Urb
    brendurbanist at gmail dot com

    1. Dear Cynthianna,

      Thanks so much for stopping in and so glad you liked the review. I hope you get to see it. I really enjoyed the blog hopping this weekend too. Happy St. Patrick’s day!

      Sylvia

Leave a Reply

