Interview with author Stacy Eaton


 I am so please to have with us author Stacy Eaton who is here to promote her latest book Garda – Welcome to the Realm.  

Sylvia – Thank you so much for having me today!

DSC_0007-1

Bio: 

Stacy Eaton is a police officer by profession. Currently, she is working as the department investigator and enjoys digging into cases and putting the pieces of the puzzles together.

Stacy resides in southeastern Pennsylvania and is the wife to a police officer and the mother of two. She is very proud of her son who is currently serving in the United States Navy and equally proud of her nine year old daughter who works hard in her Tae Kwon Do studies.

When Stacy is not working her demanding job, or spending time with her family, she works on her business and volunteers with the World Literary Café. When there is time, she writes.

Thank you so much for being here Stacy. 

My Pleasure Sylvia!

What can you tell us about your new book Garda: Welcome to the Realm? 

Garda will take you through a series of highs and lows. The story centers around Corey who is a police officer and she falls in love with Mitch, who is also an officer.  Death befalls one of them and what happens after is where the true story lies. Can love transcend death? Are our destinies in our hands, or written in some other form?

There are a lot of things that happen in this book that you won’t see coming, I’ve heard from several people who said their jaws dropped open a time or two when they got to certain parts.  Then there is the funeral, which is gut wrenching from every aspect, but allows a reader to see the emotions from a 360 degree angle. Add in the drama of several other characters and you have a whirlwind of a story!

Can you give us some insight into what makes this book different from your other ones?

In the My Blood Runs Blue Series, I write about vampires and police working together. In Whether I’ll Live or Die, I dig deep into the world of domestic violence.  Garda is different from those because for the first time, I jump into the world of Guardian Angels.

It is kind of ironic that I wrote about Angels since I don’t normally read about them, but I believe in them and know that they watch over us. When I first came up with the idea for this book, I didn’t think about putting the characters in this arena, but once that idea came, the story sprang to life in a whole new way.

What can you share about the characters in this new book?

I love my characters! Even the ones you aren’t supposed to like, I do! Corey and Mitch I have already mentioned, and they are front and center, but I didn’t mention Brock yet and he is the intensity that pulls this book together.

Corey is a hard-working caring person who does her job and does it good. Mitch is the quiet type who is struggling through some very bad stuff. Brock, well he comes across a bit bossy and rough at times, but his secrets are the cause of that.

There are other characters Beth and Joe who you will love at one point, then hate at another. Of course, I can’t forget to mention Dave and Montgomery. They are like the best friend and father figure to the characters, and in the future you will be seeing more of them for sure.

I have read your books from My Blood Runs Blue to Whether I’ll live or Die, tell us how 

your new book differs from this two books in particular? 

Garda, is a bit lighter than my other books. The My Blood Runs Blue Series and Whether I’ll Live or Die, both have some darker elements to them. While Garda does deal with death, it focuses on life and where our destinies can take us.

Although I  say it is lighter, it is not without it’s more intense moments and from what people tell me, it’s a constant page turner.

What Genre do you categorize your latest book Garda: Welcome to the Realm? 

Garda falls into the Fantasy category with elements of Romance and Crime woven into it. When you open up this book, you will find yourself right in the middle of a pursuit of a bad guy. The action starts the minute you read the first paragraph…

“The smell of rotten garbage tickled my nose, I exhaled to clear it. Walking lightly in the dark shadows of the alley, I peered around the corner of the large commercial dumpster, my gun drawn, heavy in my hands and pointed low. A rat scurried away. I moved on. The target I wanted could be classified as vermin, but he was larger, much larger.”

This is so great Stacy.  I am so excited to read it! 

What advice would you offer to other aspiring Writers? 

Once you think your book is written, get ready for the hard work do editing! Take the time to work with a good editor who will not only edit what you are  actually writing, but work with you to get the meaning behind the words to come forward. It is not a cheap thing, but it is worth it to the end. I didn’t use a content editor on my first two books and I could kick myself now for not doing that, but I just didn’t know.

Now, I have an awesome editor who I trust and knows my style. She knows what I am trying to get at, and helps me to find the best way to write the words for the most impact. She is worth every penny I pay her!

I am a strong believer that you should never publish a book before it is professionally edited.

This is definitely so important. 

Do you have a specific routine when you write?

Lol… I always have a hot cup of coffee and there is always music playing on my computer. The music I listen too is determined by the frame of mind I want to be in. If the scenes are intense, so is the music. Action and its upbeat music. If it’s a love scene, well then I put the sappy stuff on, but the music helps my mind flow better with the words.

I can definitely relate on that lol.

What is something we would be surprised to know about you?

I love muscle cars! You know those classic 60’s and 70’s solid steel, loud, fast, racing monsters!  My favorites are the Dodge Challenger and the Mach 1 Mustangs.

Wow! That sounds so cool Stacy. 

I know you also work as a police officer. How do you deal with balancing your duties as one and also writing?

Balancing, huh?  Some day’s its easy. Other times like this last month, it is impossible.  If I am working a major case, or have a lot going on at work, my hours are long and I’m exhausted when I come home. When things calm down, I generally get some time throughout my week to do some writing.

Although, most times it is on one of my day’s off that I will sit for the day and just write. On those days, I’ll get a good 15K written. It’s been a while since I was able to do that, but my job as an officer comes first.

Thanks for all you do.   

What are some of your favorite hobbies?

Photography is one of my passions. It has been ever since I was in high school and I learned how to process my own black and white photos. A long time ago, I had my own dark room and did all of the work myself. The hard part about that was that film was so expensive and you never knew if you nailed the shot or not.

Now with digital cameras, you can take hundreds of photos and just delete the ones you don’t like. I always carry my Digital SLR camera with me because you never know when you might see a moment in time you want to cherish in the future!

I get that and yes you never know. 

Thank you so much for being here today it was a big honor!

Sylvia, the honor is all mine!  Thank you for allowing me to visit here today!!!

LINKS:

Website: http://www.stacyeaton.com

Blog: http://stacyeatonauthor.blogspot.com/

Goodreads:  http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4826711.Stacy_Eaton

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Stacy-Eaton/191880767522183?ref=hl

Twitter: @StacySEaton

You Tube video Trailer: http://youtu.be/uNJcU7Ni8k8

KINDLE: http://tinyurl.com/b43msy6

NOOK: http://tinyurl.com/bbw6l7j

garda-ebook

 MelissasSupportTeamBanner
5 thoughts on “Interview with author Stacy Eaton”

  1. Dear Stacy,

    This was such an honor. Thanks so much for being here and I hope you will be here again in the future. I am also looking forward to hearing what your readers have to say! Congrats on your new book: Garda Welcome to the Realm. Your most welcome!

    Sylvia

  2. Great interview, Stacy. You have a fascinating background. The way we all go about writing is interesting to me because it’s unique to the writer. Your book looks great. Best of luck with it!

Leave a Reply

