Battered Mind: Excerpt of Chapter 1


Chapter One :  Hidden Secrets

The blood was all over the rug, it was a rainy day that May evening.  I could still here the loud shots as I layed on the ground, knocked unconscious.   As I tried to open up my eyes, I tried to recall.  what had led me to this moment.   Immediately, I felt my thoughts getting away with me. “ My Keyla, Please baby girl, be okay !”   Suddenly, I could not breath, “ Oh I thought to myself it finally has happened!   As I started to tryand open my eyes, I heard the  officer’s voice calling me. At first all I heard was really muffled, for a second there I thought I was going deaf.  Then my thoughts went back to earlier in the evening.

“ Sadie, Please, calm down! Please put the gun down!” I thought to myself what was going on, am I dreaming, is this for real, what happened?   I kept trying to scream, but I felt so weak.  “ Help me! Help me!” please  Help me!” “ “Sadie, please, please, stop this, “ I am begging you!”

“Mam!,” “Mam!” called a man’s voice. “ Can you hear me ?”  the man, called out to her once again.“ Ah, yes” I finally said  trying to stay calm.“Good”, he said. As he continued speaking, I was in and out of consciousness. I thought of happier times.   I began to see my daughter’s precious face and how happy she made me.   However, it was then that I began to gain this horrible feelinginside of me. “ Keyla! Darling”, please come to mommy!” “ Sadie!  Sadie! please! come on now”!  “ Give me the baby, now, or I swear”…  All of a sudden,  there was so much screaming, and I felt like I had fallen from  the sky,and I felt my body quivering with so much pain. “ Oh Keyla, Keyla!  my sweet girl, Mommy is not going to lose you, I love you!” Then all of  a sudden, it all came to a stand still.      I did not understand what was happening. I took and deep breath and then  I tried to gather some answers, however I was getting moreand more tired and weak until I saw myself drifting away. “ Oh come one Sadie!, stop pretending you do not know what happened!””Huh! ,  “ Who said that?”

This is my beginning Chapter of  my Book Battered Mind- of which I will   publish!

Syl Stein

6 thoughts on “Battered Mind: Excerpt of Chapter 1”

  1. Dear Gemma,

    Thanks so so much! I am glad you really like my opening, this means so much, thanks for the support! Yes I agree Jim did give his brilliant advice! You all rock! you are so kind Gemma!

    Syl

Leave a Reply

