Never give up!


Hello All,

My name is Sylvia Stein and I am an aspiring writer, and I am currently working on my first book, which I hope everyone will enjoy. Writing has been a passion of mine for a very long time, however, I always kept shoving it in the backburner, because well life happened. I was always told that you have to finish school, get a career, then marriage comes, and then you have kids, well not in particularly that order everytime, but that is how it was for me. I chose to become an educator, because I always wanted to help others. However, in the back of my mind I always loved to write. My mother told me that I was writing stories since I was 5 and was able to write. I also wrote play for school, and I even at one point wanted to create a part three to Grease. Sadly, I always seemed to also worry about making sure I had a steady career and retirement saved up.

 

Then I started to teach and slowly gave up writing entirely. Until later when I met whom would be my future husband Jeremy and then I began writing poems that were dedicated to him, and then began my love for writing poetry.

Next, we got engaged, married, and had our first son, and we got more overhelm with life. Now we also had a baby to provide for, so then we both had more bills to pay and also daycare since both of us worked outside of the home.

Furthermore, about 15 months later came another son, Michael which was another blessing. However, we knew we had more responsibility. Then it was more about work, all the time- and so writing again- took a back seat to my life.
Then, more years went by and I had to go back to Texas, when my grandparents needed help. My grandmother was ill and so was my Grandfather. However, sadly in September 22, of 2008 she passed. Her passing was rough, and it had already been hard with the losss of my father in 2005, I did not know how I would get through it all.

Then again I began expressing my grief in my journal. I felt better, even though I was still hurting. Then, later months passed and in February of 2009 I found out I was pregnant once again. I could not believe it, I had two boysone who just turned 4 and the other 3 and now I was having another one. Well I thought, I know this time I will for sure have a girl and I did. On October 2, 2009 our little girl came in to the world. We named her Consuelo after my beloved Grandmother. By this time we had resumed our life in Raleigh N.C.

Therefore, now I work from home, and I take care of my daughter and I deciced to work on my writing. I am now working on my first book, and I have decided no matter how busy we are, we need to take time for ourselves and our lives. I am now working on submitting my manuscript into the computer and I have finished my first psychological thriller and I am so excited and proud. I never gave up on my dream of writing and neither should you? If you have a dream that you need to fullfill, take the next steps to do something about it, whether you dedicate 20 minutes to an hour a day, just make sure you Never Give Up! I never did!

1 thought on “Never give up!”

Leave a Reply

